Single Digits

There are exactly seven days remaining before I hop on a plane to Barcelona! We’re in the single digits now! Whoop whoop! Today, I officially moved out of my apartment, crashing on my parents’ couch until take off day. I am a big fan of spending my evenings home with my parents for both the quality time and the delicious dinners. Tonight we had tacos! This upcoming week, I will be doing some last minute errand running. I’ll also be saying too many ‘see yah later’s, which is the main downside to leaving. On more than one occasion, I have wished my important people could fit in my suitcase or my pocket. Nevertheless, it’s not forever; it’s not goodbye.

In the past few weeks, I have been asked by several people how I am going to fit 9 months worth of living in one suitcase and a carry on. Well, let me tell you, it’s a struggle. Being a girl that’s always been an over-packer, I am having a hard time stuffing all I want to take with me in a suitcase and a carry-on. However, desire and practicality are very different. I have realized that vacuum seal bags are a must as well as asking the hard question, “Do I really need this?” Through asking this question, I have downsized a lot. In fact, I just donated five trash bags full of clothes yesterday and I have several boxes of various items waiting to be sold or given away at my parents’ next garage sale. I’d say that’s a decent start!

One item I did splurge on and I would splurge on again in a heart beat is Tieks. Ladies, have you heard of these awesome flats? Hopefully, you have a pair yourself! They are comfy and practical, the perfect combination for traveling. During my time in Spain, I will not have a car, so I need shoes that I can walk and walk and walk in. These are definitely walk and walk and walk in worthy! No blisters, no pain, no sore feet; only happiness. I am a firm believer that everyone should have happy feet. 🙂 Bonus: the company is super personable, wishing me good luck on my travels. What other shoe company takes the time to send you a handwritten note?

IMG_6990.jpg

My next update will be when I’m at the Charlotte airport waiting to take off to Barcelona. Thanks for reading! I am so excited to share my travels with you!

Author:

Love laffy taffy jokes, traveling, hot cocoa, reading, adventures, teaching, and hugs :)

Leave a Reply

