Hello Tiger

On Wednesday, I started my first day at school! I had a wonderful day full of observing and getting to know the staff. A typical school day in Spain is very different than a typical school day in the US. Some of the main differences that I have noted so far:

  1. School begins at 9am and lasts until 4:30pm (give or take 15 minutes) here in Spain. As a teacher from Tennessee, I am used to starting my school day at 7:30am and ending my school day at 2:30pm. The main reasons why their days last longer are because they get breaks and their lunch lasts more than an hour.
  2. The school I am at starts their day with a prayer. Catholicism is very prominent over here; religion is often incorporated in schooling.
  3. I have seen lots of hugs and kisses given from the children to their teachers. The culture is more friendly in general, so it’s definitely understandable to see a lack of personal space between people.
  4. Loudness is the norm. The children are often very chatty, and there’s a constant buzz of chatter in the classroom. Teachers do not seem the least bit bothered by the noise level here.
  5. Languages are learned earlier on. At my school, students (ranging from ages 3-16) speak Spanish at home, complete most of their school work in Basque, and study English a few hours a week.
  6. Security does not seem to be an issue. I am used to a check-in/check-out system, ID badges, etc. None of that exists at my school.

As well as noting differences, I have been brainstorming activities for my first set of classes on Monday. The school uses a curriculum from MacMillan for their English studies. The books revolve around a character named Tiger. Within the first hour of being at the school, I quickly learned the “Hello Tiger” song, hand motions included. As students move on up from Primary 1 to 2 to 3 and so on, Tiger stays with them. It’s quite entertaining, and I love seeing the children’s enthusiasm in having fun with English Language Learning.

img_7535

Looking at my books reminds me that I need to get back to planning. Lots to do and little time to do it! 🙂 Please feel free to comment, like, and share. Cheers everyone!

 

 

Author:

Love laffy taffy jokes, traveling, hot cocoa, reading, adventures, teaching, and hugs :)

Leave a Reply

