Experiencing Spain: One Ear Style

I arrived in Spain on September 5th…and now it’s the 27th. Where did time go? Although the days seem longer here because they go well into the night, time seems to just disappear. The last few weeks have been a whirlwind. I honestly cannot believe that it’s already been weeks instead of days. Twenty two days to be exact. Craziness!

My days are jam packed. I am at the school teaching or I am tutoring in the evenings or I am out wandering and exploring spots with friends. Today is the first day that I have been able to sit for more than an hour and not have to rush off somewhere, which is perfect since the sky has been spitting mist all day and I can only properly hear out of one ear.

Did I forget to mention that? The unavoidable cold bug has been crawling from classroom to classroom around the school, and I failed to outrun it. My cold gave me my first ever ear infection, so I spent my morning at the doctor butchering Spanish trying to explain my symptoms instead of singing and dancing with four year olds in English. With antibiotics in my system, I’m hoping to defeat this nasty bacteria and get my clear hearing back soon!

For those of you who do stay in Spain for an extended time and end up needing to visit the doctor, just some things to keep in mind:

  • If you are going to a public medical clinic, you must go to the one in your area of residence. Luckily, since I picked the one within walking distance of my temporary address, I was able to make an appointment there without trouble. Double check that you are zoned for that clinic though before making all that effort when you’re not feeling 100%.
  • Unlike clinics back home that are mostly walk-in based, they assign times to visit the doctor. I arrived at 8:30am to the clinic and I was scheduled an appointment with the doctor for 10am.
  • You can find a pharmacy on basically every other block in Bilbao. Super convenient when you’re looking to get your meds fast! They’re marked by a flashing green sign on the front. Even the most oblivious person will struggle to miss them.
  • Vitamins are expensive here compared to America. They are also not as commonly found in stores. I highly recommend that if you are used to taking vitamins on a regular basis that you stock up before coming. In order to find the majority of vitamins or remedies, I have had to go to pharmacies and health food stores, which are both more highly priced and more limited in selection.

It has definitely been a learning experience! Quite the adventure getting an illness I’ve never had in a foreign country. I am definitely thankful for my new friends here and for my friends and family back home for checking up on me. 🙂 I am feeling the love from miles away. Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to snuggle under the covers and watch the remastered 25th anniversary edition of Beauty and the Beast while my ear drains. Cheers!

Author:

Love laffy taffy jokes, traveling, hot cocoa, reading, adventures, teaching, and hugs :)

2 thoughts on “Experiencing Spain: One Ear Style

Leave a Reply

