Flying Solo to Paris

For my extended weekend, I spent three days in Paris (two half days and two full days). PARIS. I never understood what all the buzz was about until now. Paris, France has a piece of my heart. Sure, it’s not perfect. The metro smells like piss and the majority of the food is pricey, but its charm blankets the negatives.

15536879_10211460212846426_24333242_o
A view of Paris from Montparnasse Tower

During my weekend stay, my schedule remained busy throughout the day and into the night. I got to see the Eiffel Tower in its many angles, tour the Louvre at night, attend the international service in the Notre Dame, learn the dynamic history of the city on a free Sandeman walking tour, get lost in the Montmartre neighborhood, climb the winding stairs to the top of the Arc de Triumph, shop at two Christmas markets, take in the panoramic view from the 59th floor of the Montparnasse Tower, and people watch while eating a croissant and sipping coffee.

15571118_10211460212806425_566453912_n
The Eiffel Tower from all sides
15571039_10211460212766424_1419416010_n
The Louvre at night
15494010_10211460233606945_1489411765_n
International service at the Notre Dame

Besides the fascinating historical aspects of Paris, I learned that it’s a city of many flavors. Sweet. I had a crepe everyday I was there. Although there are several yummy choices, my favorite was the ever popular nutella crepe. Salty. I tried a galette as well. It’s the savory crepe option. Mine was filled with brie, tomato, and lettuce. Delicious! Homey. My airbnb host Nicolas whipped up dinner for me for the first night I was in Paris. We had a baked potato and carrot medley with salmon and finished with cheeses and bread. Buttery. If you go to Paris and don’t eat a croissant, did you really go? Citrusy. My favorite macaroon (which is expensive for such a tiny treat) is definitely the lemon flavored one. On the other hand, I didn’t try many others because of the high price. Warm. The vin chaud (hot wine) kept me toasty while I wandered the market places. Chilled. I tried the famous Berthillon ice-cream on Saint Louis Island. It’s not worth the price. Go with a crepe instead. Spiced. If you’re in the Montmartre area, you must pop into Soul Kitchen, a cozy cafe owned by two native sisters. Its delicious smells from the cakes and pastries hit you before you even open the door. I had the Chai Tea Latte de Louise and an apple nut muffin; I would order both again in a heart beat! Chocolatey. Chocolate is everywhere. At the markets. In the stores. On the street corners. I tried a cinnamon chocolate dipped marshmallow as well as the traditional chocolate eclair. Obviously, I did not go hungry during my stay in Paris; I just went broke.

15577541_10211460206846276_1907199110_n
#treatsofparis
15540235_10211460212886427_636175026_o
Street art by Mario ~ my souvenir

I’ll definitely be returning to Paris, although next time I hope to share the experience with the boyfriend, as it is the city of love and all that, so we can discover the catacombs, see the gardens of Versailles, and take a nightly cruise on a riverboat (things I didn’t get a chance to do). But for now, I am taking it easy this weekend to catch up on work before traveling to Berlin, Prague, Vienna, and Budapest in two weeks. Have you been to Paris before? What was your favorite part? Do you have a humorous memory from your trip? Any recommendations for my second trip to Paris? Any suggestions for the four cities I am visiting over Christmas? Thanks for reading! Please feel free to leave comments or ask questions below. 🙂 Cheers!

Author:

Love laffy taffy jokes, traveling, hot cocoa, reading, adventures, teaching, and hugs :)

5 thoughts on “Flying Solo to Paris

  1. Love love love all of your posts! How exciting and thank you for sharing your adventures with the rest of us back home! Someday I want to see the Eiffel Tower…don’t know why I’m so drawn to pixtures of it. (P.s.- your Eiffel Tower picture souvenir is beautiful!)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

