March Madness

March. What the hell did I ever do to you?

Don’t get me wrong, the month of March began like a fairytale. My boyfriend Chris was here visiting me from across the world, and seeing him on a daily basis made my heart beat happily. We spent our final weekend in Madrid, being tourists in one of my favorite all-time cities. But then, his last day rolled around, and after a long flight delay, we had to say our ‘see you later’s in the Bilbao airport. I didn’t pack enough tissues in my purse, and the man sitting next to me on the bus back to city center didn’t see to appreciate my sniffling.

17571145_10212482562644532_2014372813_o
My heart, see you soon.

During the following week, I was planning on teaching my students about Saint Patrick’s day; however, I ended up bed ridden with a high fever and throat infection that only antibiotics would cure. Needless to say, I wasn’t feeling too lucky.

My brother Joel, his girlfriend Victoria, and lifelong friend Patrick (family) popped into Bilbao for a weekend in the middle of the month, waking me up out of my funk for a few days full of pintxos and sightseeing. Leaving them at the bus stop was another tearful occasion. Homesickness crept its way into my mind shortly after our goodbyes.

17622406_10212482563044542_37616838_o
Family visits make my face hurt from smiling so much.

Not even two days later, I ate some bad falafel (it was my favorite stand too) and spent the entire night into the late morning dying a slow food poisoning death. More school missed. More guilt for leaving my students hanging. More boredom. More homesickness. No more falafel.

To destress some and recover from my illness, Susan and I had a girls’ weekend. We got our nails done (spring colors of course), ate a fancy dinner of Basque traditional foods, and saw the new Beauty and the Beast at the Golem Theater. To follow up a great Friday night, we spent our Saturday evening in comfy clothes having a movie marathon (Becoming Jane & The Wedding Date) and binge eating various sweets. She even made me chocolate chip pecan pancakes in the morning for breakfast! It was the pick me up that I needed.

17577927_10212482562524529_1047629347_n
This chick is the bomb.

To conclude the month of March (I’m just assuming nothing too extreme can happen in the last few days of this insane month but I’ll probably be proven wrong), I got a message about a loved one being hospitalized and her condition fluctuating. Thankfully, my grandma is stable now and is being moved to a regular room since her condition is continually improving. Keeping my fingers crossed and sending good vibes so she keeps getting better! I forget how far away from home I am until something happens and I realize that I can’t simply pop back to the States for the weekend. I have learned that travel comes with a price far greater than the initial expensive plane ticket.

As this whirlwind of a month is coming to a close, I can’t help but be thankful for where I am (although my complaining probably doesn’t seem like it). Even though I was feeling miserable on about half the days of March, I survived, feeling only elation on the other half. The emotional rollercoaster has almost passed. April is on its way, bringing spring showers for a much needed cleanse. And on the most difficult days, if all else fails to keep me motivated, I simply remind myself why I started.

17622170_10212482562844537_997805224_o
Seize the day!

Disclaimer: My March Madness post does not refer to any teams, brackets, or even basketball, but I hoped you enjoyed reading it anyways. Cheers! 🙂

Disclaimer Two: In case you missed why I’ve been absent from blogging, March was a fun sucker, leeching my energy and time. I promise to do better this upcoming month! Hurry up April! 🙂

Author:

Love laffy taffy jokes, traveling, hot cocoa, reading, adventures, teaching, and hugs :)

Leave a Reply

