SURPRISE!

Guess what readers?! I went HOME!

Thanks to the help of my amazing boyfriend, I was able to surprise my parents for the Easter holiday! 🙂 I hadn’t been home in over seven months, which of course is too many months without hugging my mom and dad. Let’s just say a few tears were shed.

During my (almost) two week break, family and friends showered me with love. From eating out at my favorite places to dancing the night away in Nashville to Easter egg hunting in the yard to picking mouthwatering strawberries straight off the vine to making s’mores by the campfire in the rain to road tripping across state after state, I had a hell of a time! 🙂 Thank you to everyone for the wonderful memories, and for those of you that I missed when I was in town, we’ll definitely catch up in July!

18155666_10212779969159509_493855149_n
Sweet strawberry picking with my favorites!
18110705_10212779968919503_167779565_n
Great friends, s’mores, and pass the pigs!
18143019_10212779968879502_352864777_n
Easter egg hunt with this handsome man!

While I was on the plane ride back to Spain, I mulled over a question that one of my former students asked me. “Ms. Flowers, are you sad that you have to go back?” My schedule in the States was too busy for me to contemplate it then, but sitting on a plane for seven hours doesn’t necessarily keep you preoccupied. By the time the plane touched down and a small sense of excitement trickled through me, I had my answer. The truth: Bilbao will always have a place in my heart; no matter where I end up next, a few heart strings will always be pulled when thinking about the memories I have made here, the friendships I have developed, and the home I have created. Yes, I was utterly ecstatic to be back in Clarksville, Tennessee. Yes, I can’t wait to visit again this summer. Yes, I miss my friends and family like crazy everyday. But no, I’m not sad to be where I currently am. I am happy. 🙂

Author:

Love laffy taffy jokes, traveling, hot cocoa, reading, adventures, teaching, and hugs :)

Leave a Reply

